Excerpt from At the End of Life: True Stories About How We Die

Posted on March 27, 2012 by

0


The always excellent Obit-Mag.com is running an excerpt from Creative Nonfiction’s forthcoming essay collection, At the End of Life: True Stories About How We Die.

And by excerpt, we mean Anne Jacobson’s entire essay, “To Morning.”

The book, available everywhere April 10, features twenty-two excellent essays which Publishers Weekly called “an impressive, meaningful, and often courageous chorus of voices tackling a once-taboo subject with dignity.”

When we say creative nonfiction is a blend of style and substance, this is what we mean. Here is the opening paragraph:

A shriek in the darkness drew out my shallow, sleeping breath in a singular gasp. Disoriented in the windowless room, I felt a familiar pounding in my chest that jostled my brain awake. As I fumbled for the light, the small black box continued its ear-splitting siren as it fell off the nightstand and bounced under the bed. I knelt on the gray, stained carpet and fished the beast out from the dusty collection of medical journals and soda cans that lived there. Squinting in the fluorescent light, I saw that the digital numbers coalesced on the pager screen and formed a room number. I grabbed the white coat on the chair and ran.

Read the piece, in its entirety, here.

